top of page
  • Writer's picturePeter Howell

'The Doctor Will See You Now', or, 'Bugger Me, I Finished!'

Updated: Apr 1, 2019


So, the primary reason why this blog has been a little 'tumble-weedy' for the last year or so has finally been finished. I submitted my PhD thesis in September and had my viva examination in November and have now printed, bound, and delivered the final copy to the University. After 5 years, I can finally fill my spare time with spurious 'stuff' again without the constant nagging guilt of not spending every waking moment writing. Or reading. Or thinking about writing or reading.

The final title is Disruptive Game Design: A Commercial Design and Development Methodology for Supporting Player Cognitive Engagement in Digital Games. Yes, a little long (as the printer reminded me as I paid for him to use two type blocks on the cover rather than one), but it gets the point across! This has been one of the toughest things I think I have ever done but I enjoyed every minute of it. I couldn't have got to this stage without the outstanding support of everyone else involved though: my supervisors, my family, and especially my wife and son. Thanks to everyone!

You can download my full thesis via the University of Portsmouth Research Portal.

9 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

©2023 Peter Howell.

bottom of page