top of page
  • Writer's picturePeter Howell

Philosophy of Computer Games (POCG2016) Conference Paper & Talk

Updated: Apr 1, 2019


The first post-doc publication following on from the work completed during my PhD was presented today at the Philosophy of Computer Games (POCG2016) Conference in Malta's Institute of Digital Games.

Titled A Theoretical Framework of Ludic Knowledge: A Case Study in Disruption and Cognitive Engagement, it presents the culmination of my work looking at how different knowledge types and different memory types may be leveraged by game designers to produce different types of gameplay experience. The case study in question is of Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs which I co-designed alongside Dan Pinchbeck at The Chinese Room. The paper can be found in full here and, if you really want to listen to my lovely voice, my full conference session can be watched here.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page